Hello! I hope everyone’s week is going well! I’ve been meaning to make a post like this for a while now, and here it is! I’m going to be talking about books that you might like based on books you might have read.

Also a little note: I decided to get rid of the Book Haul tab, but the previous book hauls will be underneath the Monthly Wrap-up tab. From now on I will include and books I have obtained in recent months, and in the future in the Wrap-up posts.

**If you have any other recommendations or any others you would like to add, please leave a comment!!**


81dZd9aMhjLIf you like this: A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi

Summary: A year after 9/11, Shirin is still enduring the backlash the tragic event has caused because she’s Muslim. She keeps to herself and hangs out with her brother until she meets Ocean, a boy who goes to her school and changes her perspective about people.

915XZDoqAQLThen you’ll like: All We Have Left by Wendy Mills

Summary: In stories told in the past and present of the September 11th attack on the twin towers, two girls tell their stories about their experiences. Jesse’s story leads to talk about the aftermath of the attack and the death of her brother. Alia’s story is told during the happenings on the attack, trying to escape, along with a boy she decides to trust.

These books talk about the horrific event of 9/11 and how others have had to deal with the result and hatred towards those of Muslim culture. The messages throughout both of these novels send a positive message regardless of the negativity.


91TZV+xgSsLIf you like this: Neverworld Wake by Marisha Pessl

Summary: Beatrice and her friend group were the cool kids, until Jim, Beatrice’s boyfriend dies. Beatrice returns hoping to uncover the deep truths of what happened with Jim’s death. As she returns, her friends invite her to stay a night in the seaside estate, but something goes wrong when they hear a knock on the door. A man appears and tells them they’ve entered a Neverworld Wake, and they must decide who will live and die to escape.

27833670Then you’ll like: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Summary: Jason Dessen is out celebrating one night, and all of a sudden he’s kidnapped. He then realizes that he can travel through alternate parallels through this box. He must find a way to make it to his real universe in order to go back to his original life. 

Although these books are different the concept of reliving the same day and switching through universes, I think, is very similar. So if you enjoyed Neverworld Wake, you will probably enjoy Dark Matter. Even the reading experiences for me were quite similar, having me guess and kept me on the edge of my seat.


71Ha8X7iAjLIf you like this: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Summary: Aristotle is upset about his life and his outlook is quite unusual. He meets Dante at the public pool and instantly become friends. Together they discover themselves and the important things about life.

28919058.jpgThen you’ll like: Autoboyography by Christina Lauren

Summary: Tanner moves to Utah and is nearly graduated from high school. His friend Autumn convinces him to join a seminar where he must write a book in four months. He’s unsure in the beginning but when he meets Sebastian, he changes his mind and starts coming back out the closet.

These two novels are similar because they question who they want to be but also find love along the way. Both of these are very cute and fun to read.


milkIf you like this: Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

Summary: A poem collection about love, loss, feminity, abuse, and other heavy topics.

42861725._UY2048_SS2048_Then you’ll like: Water Runs Red by Jenna Clare

Summary: A poem collection about ruined friendships, good and evil, and self-exploration.

These collections are similar but also focus on different things. I find it hard to explain poetry novels because I think it’s better to go in with very little knowledge. If you want more poetry if you’ve read Milk and Honey, you won’t regret picking up Water Runs Red.


o-NEW-HARRY-POTTER-COVER-facebookIf you like this: Harry Potter by J.K Rowling

Summary: After his parents die, Harry must live with his terrible relatives. One day, a man named Hagrid came to tell him he’s a wizard and will attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and learn magic and spells.

SummonerNoviceThen you’ll like: The Novice by Taran Matharu

Summary: Fletcher, a blacksmith apprentice discovers he can summon demons. After his realization, he attends Adept Military Academy to learn how to summon demons but also train to fight against orcs. He gets caught in some dangers leading him to rely on Ignatius, his demon. 

When I read the Novice it reminded me of Harry Potter because of the training inside the academy but also Pokemon because with the summoning. The premises are different but they do have some similarities that might be appealing if you have read the Harry Potter series.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s